A while ago I mentioned that I was waiting for Tony Burch to finally release a collection of accessories for Fitbit, which was announced in April.
I have always been of the opinion that there is no reason for wearable technology to be ugly and geeky. It would be nice for us (and lucrative for companies willing to invest in this) to be able to wear tech devices and look good, not in spite of the fact that we are wearing them, but because we are wearing them.  I had been waiting for technology and fashion companies to get together and work on this.  After all, there is a very good reason why fashion designer and hardware designer are two very distinct professions, therefore for a wearable device to be fashionable and technically well-conceived it is necessary for the two types of designer and the two industries to collaborate.

flex_TBWhich is why I was happy to hear about the Fitbit-Tony Burch deal. In April we were able to see some sketches and now we are  finally able to see and purchase the results of this collaboration. …and I am not too impressed.  I was hoping for a little more variety, while they released only one bracelet* and one necklace.  It is a matter of taste of course, but to me this metal bracelet for the Fitbit Flex is not particularly interesting and is not worth $195.00. Many will disagree with me, which is great! Indeed, I applaud these companies’ effort  and I am glad that their accessories are now out. I hope that they will be successful, so that they set the path for many more to come.

In the meantime I am looking forward to seeing the designer version of Google glasses – and also the glasses’ updated functional applications after this long period of beta testing, but this is a different story.

 

* To be fair, they also offer a version of the standard silicon band with the Tony Burch logo for $38. The standard band, sold by Fitbit without a logo costs $14.95. I am not up to date on logo values, therefore I am not sure if it is good or bad that they figured the Tony Burch one to be worth $23.05.

 

